A Love Story

 

Defining roles

Contrary to an enduring popular belief, a couple consisting of two men or two women does not always copy the stereotypical roles of a heterosexual couple. If two women are in a relationship, there is not one that takes the place of the man while the other takes on a more feminine role. The same holds true for two men in a relationship. LGBT people express their feminity or masculinity in a lot of different ways. In this respect, they are no different from heterosexual couples. 

The awakening of love

It is often a love-at-first-sight experience with a person of the same sex that brings a person to an awareness of their homosexuality or bisexuality. It might mark the beginning of their first relationship or their first heartbreak. Although parents are rarely prepared for this type of situation, their love for their children should allow them to support them in their new life.

Sexuality

Sexuality takes a different place and shape in each couple.  Each couple determines their sexual behavior and their commitment to each other. Regardless of the person’s sexual orientation or gender identity, it is important to respect their privacy. So please refrain from intimate questions unless your quite close to that person.

Homo(sexuality)

Too often, homosexuality is viewed in a restrictive way in which sexual orientation is reduced to the mere expression of sexuality.

As with heterosexual couples, same sex couples are most often formed around amorous and emotional feelings. Sexuality is certainly part of a lot of relationships, but it's important not to reduce a couple to sexual acts. Relationships are based on so much more!

Engagement, support, mutual assistance, equality, complementarity and sharing of duties are just as important for same-sex couples as they are to heterosexual couples. Couples made up of two women or two men, often experience the same happiness and hardship as couples made up of a man and a woman

Did you know ?

In a study conducted in 2018 in the United Kingdom, more than 2/3 of respondents said they did not hold their same-sex partner's hand in public to avoid a negative reaction from others.

Specific issues

 

Le droit d'aimer

Only 26 states recognize marriage for same-sex couples. Moreover in 72 states it is still illegal to be homosexual.
Several states recognize legal status for same-sex couples without going as far as marriage. As for religious ceremonies, it is up to the churches to decide on their rule of conduct.
Recognition of the union has a significant impact on the right to receive a pension or inheritance, or to make decisions about the health of our spouse.

Domestic violence

As with heterosexual couples, same-sex couples can experience spousal violence. However, the subject remains very little discussed and many will not seek help for fear of prejudice.

This is even more the case if the person lives in a region where homosexuality is criminalized, because they risk to be arrested if they admits being in a couple with a person of the same sex.

Families

Many LGBT people, alone or in a couple, want to have children, whether by adoption or assisted procreation, and in a small number of countries like Canada, children can have legal parentage with both parents, but this is not the case in most countries.

Same-sex celebrity couples

Many same-sex couples among celebrities have marked history, literature, arts, politics and science in many part of the world and in all period of time. Of these couples, some have remained discreet about their relationship. Others, have claimed their difference and their right to equality.

Amongst those who became models for generations of gays, lesbians and bisexuals, there are: Leonardo da Vinci and Salai, Paul Verlaine and Arthur Rimbaud, Marguerite Yourcenar and Grace Frick, Frida Kahlo and Chavela Vargas, Rock Hudson and Marc Christian MacGinnis, Martina Navratilova and Julia Lemigova, Matthew Mitcham and Lachlan Fletcher, Ellen DeGeneres and Portia De Rossi, George Smitherman and Christopher Peloso, Jodie Foster and Cydney Bernard, Adam Lambert and Drake LaBry.

 

Survey results

According to our survey, conducted in 2011:

• 2/3 of Canadians (66%) say they have a gay friend

• 21% of Canadians think that a couple made up of two men are not as likely as a heterosexual couple to have a long-term love relationship.

• Overall, almost two-thirds (65%) of Canadians think that the Canadian Parliament's 2005 law authorizing same-sex civil marriage is a good decision, while 23% think it is a bad decision.

• Nearly two-thirds (67%) of respondents would agree to be the godfather or godmother of a child with same-sex parents.

 

Archive

© 2018 by Fondation Émergence
Proudly created with Wix.com

Logo_carré_orange_FB.png

About us

Fondation Émergence's mission is to educate, inform and raise public awareness about the realities of people who belong to sexual and gender diversity. This includes, but is not limited to, lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, queer, intersex and 2-spirit people.

Contact us

Fondation Émergence inc.
C.P. 55510
Centre Maisonneuve
Montréal (Québec) H1W 0A1

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Une histoire d'amour

 

Définitions des rôles

Contrairement à l’idée reçue encore tenace, deux hommes en couple ou deux femmes en couple ne reproduisent pas forcément les rôles traditionnels d’un couple hétérosexuel. Dans un couple de femmes, il n’y en a pas une qui "fait l'homme" et l'autre qui "fait la femme". Il en va de même pour les couples d’hommes. Tout comme dans les couples hétérosexuels, le partage des tâches varie selon les couples. 

Éveil de l'amour

C’est souvent au cours d’un coup de foudre pour une autre personne de même sexe qu’une personne prend conscience de son homosexualité. Comme pour tout le monde il se peut que ces sentiments ne soient pas réciproques, mais s'ils le sont, cela peut être le début d'une belle histoire d'amour. S'agira-t-il d'un amour d'un été ou d'un amour d'une vie, seul l'avenir le sait !

Sexualité

La sexualité prend une place et une forme différente dans chaque couple. Quelque soit l'orientation sexuelle ou l'identité de genre d'une personne, il est important de respecter sa vie privée. Chaque couple détermine sa conduite sexuelle et son engagement envers l’autre.

Homo(sexualité)

Trop souvent, l’homosexualité est perçue de manière limitative où l’on ramène l’orientation sexuelle à la simple expression de la sexualité.

Comme pour les couples hétérosexuels, ceux de même sexe se forment le plus souvent autour de sentiments amoureux et affectifs. La sexualité fait certes partie de beaucoup de relations de couples, et c’est peut-être même elle qui a allumé la flamme, mais il est important de ne pas réduire un couple à cela. Les relations de couples se fondent sur tellement plus !

L’engagement, le soutien, l’entraide, l’égalité, la complémentarité et le partage des tâches font partie des valeurs défendues par les couples de même sexe au même titre que les couples hétérosexuels.

Les couples de même sexe, composés de deux femmes ou deux hommes, vivent souvent les mêmes bonheurs et les mêmes difficultés que les couples de sexe différent.

Le saviez-vous ?

Dans une étude réalisée en 2018 au Royaume-Uni, plus de 2/3  des répondants ont déclaré éviter de tenir la main de leur partenaire de même sexe en public pour éviter une réaction négative de la part des autres. 

Les problématiques

 

Le droit d'aimer

Seuls 26 états reconnaissent le mariage pour les couples de même sexe. Par ailleurs dans 72 états il est encore illégal d'être homosexuel.  

Plusieurs états reconnaissent un statut juridique aux couples de même sexe sans aller jusqu’au mariage. Quant aux cérémonies religieuses, il revient aux églises de décider de leur règle de conduite.

La reconnaissance de l'union a des répercussions importante sur le droit de toucher une pension ou un héritage, ou encore de prendre des décisions pour la santé de notre conjoint. 

Violence conjugale

Comme pour les couples hétérosexuels, les couples de même sexe sont susceptibles de vivre de la violence conjugale. Cependant, le sujet reste très peu abordé et plusieurs seraient moins portés à chercher de l’aide par peur du regard porté sur leur relation.

C'est encore plus le cas si la personne vit dans une région où l'homosexualité pénalisée, car elle risque d'être arrêtée si elle admet être en couple avec une personne de même sexe.  

Familles

Beaucoup de personnes homosexuelles, seules ou en couple, souhaitent avoir des enfants par adoption ou par procréation assistée et, dans un petit nombre de pays comme le Canada, les enfants auront une filiation juridique avec leurs deux parents, mais ce n'est pas le cas de la plupart des pays.

Couples de même sexe chez les célébrités

De nombreux couples de même sexe chez les célébrités ont marqué l’histoire, la littérature, les arts, la politique et les sciences, et ce, dans toutes les civilisations et à toutes les époques. De ces couples, certains sont demeurés discrets sur leur relation. D’autres, plus téméraires, ont revendiqué leur différence et leur droit à l’égalité.

Devenus des modèles pour des générations de gais et de lesbiennes, citons notamment : Léonard de Vinci et Salai, Paul Verlaine et Arthur Rimbaud, Marguerite Yourcenar et Grace Frick, Frida Kahlo et Chavela Vargas, Rock Hudson et Marc Christian MacGinnis, Martina Navratilova et Julia Lemigova, Matthew Mitcham et Lachlan Fletcher, Ellen DeGeneres et Portia De Rossi, George Smitherman et Christopher Peloso, Jodie Foster et Cydney Bernard, Adam Lambert et Drake LaBry.

 

Sondage

Selon notre sondage, effectué en 2011  : 

  • 2/3 des Canadien.ne.s (66%) disent qu’ils ont parmi leurs ami.e.s des personnes homosexuelles

  • 21 % des Canadien.ne.s pensent qu'un couple d'hommes n'a pas autant de chances qu'un couple d'hétérosexuels de vivre une relation amoureuse à long terme. 

  • Dans l’ensemble, près deux tiers (65%) des Canadien.ne.s pensent que la loi de 2005 du parlement canadien autorisant le mariage civil entre conjoints de même sexe est une bonne décision, alors que 23% pensent que c’est une mauvaise décision.

  • Près deux tiers (67%) des personnes interrogées accepteraient d’être le parrain ou la marraine d’un enfant ayant deux parents de même sexe.

 

Archive

© 2018 by Fondation Émergence
Proudly created with Wix.com

Logo_carré_orange_FB.png

La Fondation Émergence est un organisme qui a but non Lucratif basé à Montréal a pour mission d’éduquer, d’informer et de sensibiliser la population aux réalités des personnes qui se reconnaissent dans la diversité sexuelle et la pluralité des identités et des expressions de genre. Cela inclue mais ne se limite pas aux personnes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles, trans, queer, intersexes, bispirituelles (2s), etc.

Nous contacter

Fondation Émergence inc.
C.P. 55510
Centre Maisonneuve
Montréal (Québec) H1W 0A1

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon