Poster for May 17th International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia, homosexuality and trans identity are not diseases. Conversion therapy

An identity, not a disease !

 

Conversion therapy

This practice which aims to "cure" homosexuality or transidentity is illegal in very few countries. It can take many forms including psychoanalysis and aversion therapy (causing an uncomfortable or painful feeling when the person has homosexual feelings). In addition to not producing the results it promise, conversion therapy can cause anxiety, depression, and even suicidal thoughts.

This practice, condemned by many organizations such as the Canadian Psychological Association, is also known under other names such as "reparative therapy".

Bias and prejudice

Prejudices against homosexuals are not new and it is not easy to fight them.

Unfortunately, issues related to the transmission of STIs and policies of exclusion for donated blood and organs reinforce these prejudices by associating homosexual relations with disease.

The same is true for transidentity, often associated with mental illness although it is not.

Institutions

It was not until December 15, 1973, that the American Psychiatric Association removed homosexuality from its reference manual of mental illnesses. The decision was reflected in the DSM-III published in 1980.

On May 17, 1990, the World Health Organization (WHO) removed homosexuality from the list of mental illnesses. It is in honor of this day that the International Day against Homophobia and Transphobia is held on May 17th.

Finally, in 2018, WHO finally removed transidentity from its list of mental illnesses.

Did you know ?

In a 2015 study done in New York State, 10.5% of LGBT people aged 18 to 24 reported having been subjected to conversion therapy. This proportion rises to 14.2% (1 in 7) for trans youth.

SOURCE

Did you know ?

In a 2008 study in Canada, nearly one in ten participants admitted that they had already avoided seeking a health service because of their sexual orientation or gender identity. This proportion rises to 30% among trans people.

 

In the health sector

Giving blood and organs

A person can transmit an infection or illness to another person during sexual intercourse. Risks depend on sexual behaviors and not on sexual orientations.

Exclusion policies of groups of people that rely on statistical probabilities, perpetuate stigma and do not follow common sense (a man who has safe sex with another man is less at risk than a man who does not protect himself with a women).

Coming-out 

LGBTQ + people should not feel uncomfortable discussing their sexual orientation or gender identity with a health care provider, but unfortunately this is still the case. This discomfort may compromise the quality of the relationship and service rendered, and may even be dangerous. Indeed, some LGBTQ + people are more reluctant to consult a doctor, or to reveal certain information to them, which can have adverse effects on their health.

It is relevant !

Various issues related to quality of life and physical and mental health may be related to gender orientation and gender identity and, in particular, to the prejudice that accompanies them: aging, the discovery of sexual orientation and one’s body, suicide, relating to people one’s age, assisted reproduction techniques and adoption, laws establishing parentage rules and other legal aspects such as the mandate of incapacity, STIs and HIV / AIDS, violence and drug abuse, etc.

 

Canadians want health workers to be trained on the issues related to homosexuality

Survey results

Survey results 2008 health professional should have a training to better understand homosexuals

According to our survey, conducted in 2008:

  • Four in five Canadians (79%) think it is important for health care workers to receive adequate training on issues related to homosexuality.

  • 14% of respondents thought that homosexuality was a mental disorder and 30% of respondents said that there are treatments to help someone who wants to change their sexual orientation.

  • 29% of Canadians think that mental health specialists should not help homosexuals to accept their orientation.

 

Original edition

© 2018 by Fondation Émergence
Proudly created with Wix.com

Logo_carré_orange_FB.png

About us

Fondation Émergence's mission is to educate, inform and raise public awareness about the realities of people who belong to sexual and gender diversity. This includes, but is not limited to, lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, queer, intersex and 2-spirit people.

Contact us

Fondation Émergence inc.
C.P. 55510
Centre Maisonneuve
Montréal (Québec) H1W 0A1

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

6015-FE-JOUR-AFF-N (003)-19.jpg

Une identité, pas une maladie !

 

Thérapies de conversion

Cette pratique qui vise à « guérir » l’homosexualité ou la transidentité est interdite dans très peu de pays. Elle peut prendre plusieurs formes dont la psychanalyse et la thérapie d’aversion (provoquer une sensation désagréable ou douloureuse lorsque la personne a des sentiments homosexuels). En plus de ne pas produire les résultats dont elle se vante, la thérapie de conversion peut causer de l’anxiété, de la dépression, voire des idéations suicidaires.

Cette pratique condamnée par beaucoup d'organismes comme la Société canadienne de psychologie se cache sous d'autres noms comme "thérapie réparative". 

Préjugés

Les préjugés envers les personnes homosexuelles ne sont pas nouveaux et il n’est pas facile de les combattre.
Malheureusement, les problématiques liées à la transmission des ITS et les politiques d’exclusion des dons de sang et d’organes renforcent ces préjugés en associant les relations homosexuelles à la maladie, alors que l’homosexualité n’est pas une maladie.

Il en est de même pour la transidentité, souvent associé à une maladie mentale alors que ce n'est pas le cas. 

Institutions

Il aura fallu attendre le 15 décembre 1973 pour que l’Association américaine de psychiatrie retire l’homosexualité de son manuel de référence. La décision s’est reflétée dans le DSM-III publié en 1980.

Le 17 mai 1990, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) a rayé l’homosexualité de la liste des maladies mentales. C'est en l'honneur de cette journée que la Journée se tient le 17 mai.

Enfin c'est en 2018 que l'OMS a retiré la transidentité de sa liste des maladies mentales.

Le saviez-vous ?

Dans une étude réalisée en 2015 dans l'état de New York, 10.5% des personnes âgées de 18 à 24 ans ont reporté avoir été sujettes à de la thérapie de conversion. Cette proportion s'élève à 14.2% (1 personne sur 7) pour les jeunes trans. 

SOURCE

Le saviez-vous ?

Dans une étude réalisée en 2008 au Canada, près d'un.e participant.e sur dix admettait avoir déjà évité de demander un service de santé en raison de son orientation sexuelle ou de son identité de genre. Cette proportion grimpe à 30 % parmi les personnes trans.

 

Dans le milieu de la santé

Dons de sang et organes

Une personne peut transmettre une infection ou une maladie à une autre personne lors de rapports sexuels. Les risques dépendent des comportement sexuels et non de l'orientation. 

Les politiques d’exclusion de groupes de personnes qui se fondent sur des probabilités statistiques, perpétuent les stigmates et ne suivent pas le bon sens (un homme qui a des relations sexuelles protégées avec un autre homme est moins à risque qu'une personne hétérosexuelle qui ne se protège pas). 

Coming-out 

Les personnes LGBTQ+ ne devraient pas se sentir mal à l’aise de parler de leur orientation sexuelle ou de leur identité de genre avec un intervenant du milieu de la santé, mais malheureusement c'est encore le cas. Ce malaise peut compromettre la qualité de la relation et du service rendu, et peu même s'avérer dangereux. En effet, certaines personnes LGBTQ+ sont plus réticent.e.s à consulter un médecin, où à leur dévoiler certaines informations, ce qui peut avoir des effets néfastes sur leur santé. 

Parce que c'est pertinent

Diverses problématiques se rapportant à la qualité de vie ainsi qu’à la santé physique et mentale peuvent avoir un lien avec l’orientation et l’identité de genre et, plus particulièrement, avec l’oppression sociale qui les accompagne : le vieillissement, la découverte de son orientation sexuelle et de son corps, le suicide, la visibilité lesbienne, les techniques de reproduction assistée et l’adoption, les lois fixant les règles de filiation et autres aspects légaux tels que le mandat d’inaptitude, les ITS et le VIH-sida, la violence et la toxicomanie, etc.

 

Les canadien.ne.s veulent que les intervenant.e.s du milieu de la santé soient formé sur les enjeux des homosexuel.le.s

Sondage

Selon notre sondage, effectué en 2008  : 

  • Quatre canadien.ne.s sur cinq (79%) pensent qu’il est important que les intervenant.e.s de la santé reçoivent une formation adéquate sur les problématiques liées à l’homosexualité.

  • 14% des répondant.e.s pensaient que l'homosexualité est un désordre mental et 30% des répondant.e.s affirmaient qu'il existe des traitements pour aider une personne qui le désire à changer son orientation sexuelle.

  • 29% des canadien.ne.s pensent que les spécialistes de la santé mentale ne devraient pas aider les personnes homosexuelles à accepter leur orientation.

 

Notre ancienne campagne 

© 2018 by Fondation Émergence
Proudly created with Wix.com

Logo_carré_orange_FB.png

La Fondation Émergence est un organisme qui a but non Lucratif basé à Montréal a pour mission d’éduquer, d’informer et de sensibiliser la population aux réalités des personnes qui se reconnaissent dans la diversité sexuelle et la pluralité des identités et des expressions de genre. Cela inclue mais ne se limite pas aux personnes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles, trans, queer, intersexes, bispirituelles (2s), etc.

Nous contacter

Fondation Émergence inc.
C.P. 55510
Centre Maisonneuve
Montréal (Québec) H1W 0A1

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon